Gerald Ghislain’s leather – Histoires de Parfum 1740

Histoires de Parfums 1740 Marquis de Sade

A sweet, warm, magnificent leather. Brilliant in its structure, it is coherent and straight forward in its goals. It aims to please, seduce and comfort. Not a single note detracts from that effect.

Opens as a sweet candied leather. It is a sweet concoction of plum jam, honey covered roasted nuts, and boozy patchouli. Despite having a gourmand aspect, I am reluctant to call it so. The sweet concoction is spread across a suede surface, and I know that if I lick it, it won’t taste good.

The opening is impressive and I want to love it, but I know that if indulge now, I will regret later. Just as I think that, patchouli and leather envelop the sweetness and keep it restrained in their embrace. Fifteen minutes into the development, it feels like getting up from a nauseatingly loud desert table in a room which grew too stuffy over the course of the dinner, putting on a silk lined suede jacket, and escaping into the cool evening for a walk in the neighborhood park with someone like minded.

At this point the fragrance is evocative. It satiates, calms, and reminds me that life is to be enjoyed quietly.

Colours which come to mind are dark chocolate browns.

The leather notes are much closer to Serge Lutens Daim Blonde or Parfumerie Generale Cuir Venenum, than to Knize Ten or its likes.

Strangely enough, it reminds me of Andy Tauer’s LDDM in mood.

Despite the masculine associations with the leather accord, I find it to be a unisex fragrance. I don’t think this is something you would wear to underline your gender attributes.

Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

