Mona di Orio Ambre

Mona di Orio Ambre

Opens up with aldehydic powder, ylang ylang, a melon note, and an amber accord.  The composition is balanced and gentle.  Nothing offensive.  Nothing jumps out.  Colour that come to mind are cream, yellow, off white.  The colours deepen as the fragrance develops.

The fragrance is like a lanky blonde in a yellow dress.  Unremarkable, yet well mannered, somewhat elegant and inoffensive.  She does not ignite your imagination, yet there is nothing repulsive about her.   Her dress is not to your taste, but it is impeccable.  Her voice is strangely monotone, but there is something comforting about it.   Your conversation is slow, but if flows and you are on the same page.  And the more you talk to her, the more wisdom you see in her.   Later that day you realize that you found a friend.

For me, Ambre is a comfort scent.  It starts off light, gains depth, becomes interesting, but never overwhelms, or lets down.

It is not my go to amber, but it has a permanent place in my collection.

Rating: 8/10

3 thoughts on “Mona di Orio Ambre

  1. AACK… your first words, “aldehyde” and “powder” have just pushed this down to the bottom of my try-list. Bad bad bad.

    Great review, though.

    • Amber notes definitely take back stage in this perfume. I tried Mona’s Cuir, Vetiver, and Ambre, and it looks like in all of them the title note did not take center stage.
      What kind of ambers do you like the most?

  2. Right now my absolute top amber is Ambre Russe. I dig the heavier richer amber scents rather than the light and powdery ones. SL Ambre Sultan, L’AP L’Eau d’Ambre (not the “Extreme” version), MPG Ambre Precieux, and Profumi di Firenze Ambra del Nepal. I used to adore Hermès Ambre Narguile until a mini-sprayer of it exploded in my handbag, and all my belongings smelled like Ambre Narguile for months. It makes me a little queasy now. 😦

    I haven’t tried the Tom Ford one that everyone loves. I hear it’s wicked good.

Leave a Reply

